The FA and McDonald's Grassroots Football awards


The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football awards 2019 winners announced!

A judging panel compromising of East Riding FA CEO Adam Lowthorpe, East Riding FA Council Member Kerry Johnson, MKM Hull Sunday Football League Secretary Walter Owst, FA Mentor Michal Pujdak, East Riding FA Youth Council Member Alex Ellerington, East Riding FA Safeguarding and Welfare Officer Steve Lazenby and Electric Eels Powerchair football club Marketing Officer Kai Gill met on Tuesday 14th May to select this years winners.
With nearly 140 nominations across ten categories selecting this years winners proved to be an extremely difficult task with a number of deserving candidates being put forward. The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards are for people who make a positive difference. The East Riding FA  wanted to recognise those individuals and groups who put their heart and soul into the game. It’s our chance to celebrate the fantastic work that yo do – and say thank you for inspiring us all to aim for greatness.


Football is a game For All. It is people who make grassroots football happen week-in, week-out. From supporters, referees, coaches or volunteers, winners will be those whose actions and behaviour make The FA’s PRIDE values part of the game for their clubs, leagues and communities.
Progressive  reaching for improvement and innovation 
Respectful leading by example, inspiring positive behaviour in others
Inclusive uniting people of any age, ethnicity and from any background
Determined  rising to and overcoming challenges
Excellent  striving to make football the best it can be


Grassroots League of the Year | Hull and District Youth Football League

Grassroots Club of the Year | Hessle Rangers

Grassroots Project of the Year | #SmokeFreeSideLines

Grassroots Grounds Team of the Year | Nathan Jones (Bridlington Rangers)

Grassroots Volunteer of the Year | Andy Winfield (Costello FC)

Grassroots Coach of the Year | Stephen Liddell (Cottingham Rangers)

Grassroots Rising Star of the Year | Bailey Chapman (Burlington Jackdaws)

We Only Do Positive - Respect Award | Ricky Skelton (Hessle Rangers)

Grassroots Match Official of the Year | Gary Bennett

This years winners will be presented with their awards at the East Riding Grassroots Football Awards on Saturday 13th July at the KCOM Stadium.

The East Riding FA would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate in this years awards and congratulate not only this years winners but everyone who contributes their time to make Grassroots Football take place in the East Riding week in, week out.