Charter Standard

Charter Standard is The FA's kitemark award for leagues that have made a commitment to raising the standard of grassroots football.

To achieve Charter Standard status leagues must meet the following criteria:

  • 60per cent of all teams in the league must be FA Charter Standard Clubs, which must rise to 100per cent within two years of the league achieving Charter Standard status
  • The league must impliment a development plan that reflects the needs of its member clubs and teams
  • The league must use an internet-based system for results, fixtures and league tables, preferably this will be The FA's Full Time system
  • Divisions in youth leagues will contain no more than 12 teams

In addition, new clubs joining a Charter Standard League will have one year to become a Charter Standard Clubs.

The Charter Standard initiative helps to raise the standard of the grassroots game by ensuring that clubs meet and maintain certain standards. They must be supportive of The FA's RESPECT programme, have at least one minimum Level 1 qualified coach (mini-soccer and youth football only) and have a qualified first-aider.

The initiative was launched nationally in 2009 and has already proven to be a huge success. East Riding County FA are working hard to encourage teams and leagues to apply for Charter Standard so that everyone can benefit from a safer and more enjoyable experience.

If you think your league is ready to go for Charter Standard status, or for more information on Charter Standard, email Football Development Officer Tom Lee at or telephone 01482 221158.

Quick Links

Accept Ofqual FA Qual
FA Bridging Doc 17-18
SG for CM Box
Half price bags
SSE Wildcats
England DNA
Boot Room issue 30
Hive Learning Box
The England Christmas gift pack - England versus Italy